West2800 W 12th St. (605)339-1234
East501 S Sycamore Ave. (605)339-1234
North1303 E 34th St. N (605)335-5993

Testimonials

Carly K 7/10/2017
I have always liked the look and ride of the Element, but I was not planning on purchasing one anytime soon. I wanted a bigger vehicle for a while (for our three four-legged furry children) and just happened to drive past the east 10th St lot and saw the car I've always wanted! The price was right and the color couldn't be more perfect ;) Brian and Ethan were a pleasure to work with and provided entertainment as well. They were very helpful and Ethan worked hard to get me the best interest rate-on Memorial Day weekend no less! The guys at J&R are very laid back and NON-pressuring, which is refreshing to see at a used car dealership. I'd recommend them to anyone.

Jen 7/10/2017
J and R presented me with excellent service! They make it possible for a single mommy like myself to buy my dream car at an affordable rate and interest blessing me with a safe reliable car to raise my family in. I would recommend J and R to EVERYONE. your missing out if your not at J and R. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR MY BEAUTIFUL CHRYSLER 300S <3 My baby loves the new car. All the staff went above and beyond to fit my budget and address all my needs and brought me the deal of a lifetime. Come find your dream car here and leave with your wallet NOT EMPTY! Thanks again Tom Ethan and Brian

Mel 7/10/2017
My husband and I were on the hunt for a new vehicle. We had visited the 12th Street location not knowing the car we were looking at was at the East 10th location. The 12th Street location pulled up the carfax prior to us heading over to the other location to make sure it was worth our time, and let the 10th Street location know we were on our way. Brian got us in the vehicle for a test drive shortly after arriving. We decided this vehicle was a winner and Ethan quickly helped us with financing. Everyone was very friendly. I was overwhelmed by all of the car shopping we had done, but J&R made it an easy, positive experience for me.

Shannon 7/10/2017
My husband and I had been looking to trade in our vehicle for a new one, and I had researched a number of cars online, finding J&R Auto. Being familiar with the eastside location, we drove to the lot with the intention of purchasing an SUV. We met with Tom and Brian, who were very engaging, friendly, and helpful. Not pushy at all, which was a breath of fresh air! We drove the SUV, and then when we came back to the lot, we drove an awesome little Volvo hatch with a manual. The team was patient with us as we went to lunch and milled over what vehicle would best fit our needs. We returned and decided to go with the SUV (since it will accommodate our growing family!). Tom was great, as was Brian. Ethan was equally engaging and friendly. I appreciate the time that you took to answer my questions, the professional approach and the respect that you provided to my spouse and I. This was a great experience, and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND going to J&R if you are need a vehicle for whatever reason! We will definitely be back! Thanks again!

Holly Hadock 4/7/2017
I bought a 2007 Chevy Avalanche from here and I love it. They were able to get me the financing that I needed to get my dream truck. I would highly recommend them and will be back when I need another vehicle. The 4 hour drive to get it was well worth it. Very friendly staff and they even had the truck detailed and washed when I arrived. While finishing up the paperwork they went out and started it and it was all warm and toasty inside when I drove away with it.

Jeff Wahlert 8/27/2016
purchased a 2003 ford expedition from West side this is my 11th vehicle purchase from j&r I guarantee this is the only Auto dealers I will ever visit again they have hand picked every vehicle I've purchased and have stood behind all of them their service center on North cliff does all my service at a reasonable price and the salesman Big Ben was awsome I just sent my son's girlfriend to them and she bought a Toyota 4 runner from them also great team all over 6 stars from me Purchase Date : 08/26/2016

Gary Anderson 4/1/2016
This was my youngest daughters first car buying experience. We looked at this car online it was the kinda of car she has wanted for a long time so i filled out the financing forms and set up a test drive time,this was all done online on sunday evening. i would say they probaly got on this right away Monday morning i recieved a phone call from Tom he talked to me for awhile then transfered me to Pat who informed me that they had found financing and got my payment right where i wanted it. So I drove in that late afternoon and test drove the car and signed papers but informed them i wouldnt have the down payment till Friday and imformed them the car was for my daughter.so on tuesday we went back and my daughter was with we took the car out for a drive when we got back to the dealership my daughter had a few concerns so Brian the salesman told her he would check out everything that she brought to his attention. So on Friday we went back gave them the down payment and took the car for another drive. When we got back to the lot my daughter was grinning from ear to ear she was very very happy with the car Brian had addressed and fixed all her concerns and she was very greatful so we went in to sign the final papers with Pat and while we were doing that Tom took the car and filled with gas for my daughter which she was very greatful and very surprised. But I want to take the time and thank Tom,Brian,and Pat for giving a seventeen year old kid a very first great car buying experience and addressing all her concerns from the vehicle to the financing these gentleman know thier customers and take care of them very completely. So once again thank you so much for giving my daughter this very pleasing experience and she really loves her 2007 pontiac grand prix thank you. Purchase Date : 03/18/2016

Daniel Cannon 4/1/2016
Bought a decent used car on short notice was met with good customer service car had few issues but was as is but they still tried to help with the fixing of future issues. I appreciate the help and i would refer friends here for a decent used vehicle Purchase Date : 03/27/2016

Sheryl McBride 3/29/2016
The service I received was outstanding, not only did they give me an awesome deal on my van, they sent $100 to my sister for referring me. Will definitely buy my next vehicle from the old guy!!! Purchase Date : 03/04/16

Morgan 3/22/2016
My family and I had a great buying experience with J and R. The staff was all very friendly and answered all of our questions honestly. We worked with Ben and felt that he was very sincere and wanted to help us out in any way he could. Great selection of inventory also. I am loving my 2009 Jeep Patriot and would definitely return to J and R in the future.

Logan Wood 3/11/2016
Needed a new car. Had my eye on the 2009 lancer. Big Ben said no problem. Had no problems getting my dream car And at an amazing price. Great people. Even Tom in the back. Highly recommended. Come get your new ride now. I love mine.

Brandon Jessen 2/22/2016
I had a good time here. I was serviced by "The Old Guy" and it was great! I got what I wanted with almost little effort on my end and for a good rate. The first vehicle on my own and if I have to get another, I'm definitly coming back. Thanks guys. Purchase Date : 02/13/2016

Duane 2/13/2016
Scott was very helpful finding us a good car with no pressure at all. Very knowledgeable and the buying experience was very smooth. Purchase Date : 02/12/2016

Travis Klinetobe 2/8/2016
My wife and I have purchased our last 3 vehicles from Randy at J and R. From the very first vehicle we purchased, we knew that Randy and the other employees were different from your typical car dealership. Randy and the others have gone above and beyond for us and we are constantly recommending to people who are looking for a vehicle to go to J and R on 12th Street and ask for Randy as he will help you find what you need/want in your next vehicle. The people at J and R want to get you into a reliable vehicle without making you feel like you have to buy it right now, which makes the car buying experience less daunting. Any problems we have had with our vehicles (which, in truth, have not been many at all), we call and they say bring it in and we will look at it to see what we can do. We are on a first-name basis with all of the folks at J and R and they have become like family to us. My wife and I have said there is no way we can buy a vehicle from anyone else. They treat you with respect and not like another notch in the sales belt. We say try J and R. You won't be disappointed. Purchase Date : ---

Cory Stevens-Pester 2/8/2016
Excellent service. Bought a subaru outback. Ben helped me. He was very nice. A great car buying experience they made it very easy. THANKS.

Joselyn Cruz 2/4/2016
Im really happy w my New car I got from Ben you are the Best dealer in sioux falls... thanks for make me happy! - Joselyn Cruz

Brady Clark 1/30/2016
Before stopping at J and R, I went to many different dealerships to search for the right truck. I worked with many salesmen, but none were as friendly, honest, and straightforward with me as the ones from J and R. After explaining what I was looking for, they pointed me to the exact truck that fit my every want. Now, after test driving the truck, I was not pressured into buying that exact one, and they wanted to show me others on their lot. I appreciated this for the fact that they cared enough to show me other trucks they had that fit what I wanted and didn't attempt to persuade me with something more expensive or completely off track of what I was looking for. A few of the other dealerships I went to tried to push me in the wrong direction, but I did not have any issues with J and R and felt very comfortable working with them. After looking at my options, I decided to purchase my now 2004 Dodge Ram. One thing that bothered me with the truck was that it needed four new tires, and the salesmen for J and R knew what my concern was and immediately talked with the owner to get four new tires on the truck before I drove off the lot. Another important thing to note is that I was trading in my then current vehicle and was offered the highest trade-in value of any dealership I went to. Even today I get contacted from Ben Kuper, who is the main salesman I worked with, asking how the truck is running and seeing if I am still happy with my purchase. Most dealerships are not concerned with you or your vehicle once it is off of their hands, but J and R is not like most dealerships. I honestly have never felt more comfortable purchasing a vehicle, and highly recommend working with J and R to find the vehicle you want.

1/29/2016
I am a repeat customer having purchased a F-150 a few years back. Then bought a 32ft toy hauler and the F-150 would not handle it. Again, at J & R I found a F-250 Super Duty and that did the trick. Had a little problem with the oil drain plug and Randy said to take it up to the North J&L repair shop and they fixed the problem with out replacing the oil pan. I have no problem telling people to see Randy, Scott - The Old Guy - or any of the sales staff if they are looking for a different car or truck.

Brooke & Sonny Richards 1/28/2016
We bought our 07 Saturn Outlook from "The Old Guy" aka Scott! We not only love our car but the service we got! Everyone was extremely friendly and fun to chat with. We definitely recommend buying a car from here! I know next time we need a car we will be back to see Scott and the rest of the team! Purchase Date : 01/09/2016

Linc Mitchell 1/25/2016
I started looking at SUVs on cars.com about 2 months ago and didn't see anything I liked with decent miles on it. I would check back every so often and this last week a Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer came up at J&R. It had everything I wanted and then some. I went down and had the pleasure of meeting Scott aka "The Old Guy" who helped me out. He warned me of the ripped driver's seat and explained it had already been ordered and would be fixed. There were a couple of other things they went out of their way for me on. They were never once pushy or tried to pressure me into buying the truck. In fact, they even let me take it home to show my wife for a day to make sure it was really what we wanted. Overall, it was a great experience, and I can't wait to do business with them again. Thank you Scott, Randy, Tom, and J&R for everything. Purchase Date : 01/22/2016

Stuart Hansen 1/25/2016
It was time for me to purchase a different vehicle. My wife,Amy, and I had looked through many locations and I fell in Love with Chrysler 300c's. Keeping an open mind, we also checked out other makes and models. J & R has a Great selection at very reasonable prices. We found the 300c of my dreams and also a Volkswagon Jetta that sparked an interest.. Big Ben Kuper suggested a test drive in the Chrysler first and before I returned my decision was made. I had to have this Beauty! BigBen and Tom made it Happen! This was the most pleasant and fun car buying experience! So much so, Amy came back a few days later and got the Jetta! Follow your dreams! and let J & R Auto Sales send you off driving them!

Stacy Lambrecht 1/21/2016
I am a repeat customer to J & R, and my second purchase was just as great as my first. Scott "The Old Guy" was amazing. He was friendly and charismatic and he didn't pull any punches. There was a tire sensor issue with the vehicle I was test driving that he immediately came forward with before I even got in and ensured that it would be fixed. Honesty is so hard to come by when trying to buy a vehicle because so many places just want to make a sale. I appreciate the level of service I received and will be the reason I continue to come back whenever I am looking to purchase another vehicle again. These guys are the best!

Jennifer & Leroy Eilmes 1/20/2016
My husband and I went to J and R looking for the perfect vehicle for our family of six and our camping / snowmobile adventures. We happened to find a 2005 excursion with low miles and perfect condition. With the help of Scott (The old guy) we traded in our old vehicle and was able to bring home our new vehicle. We were so well treated by Scott and all of the J and R staff we decided to send other friends and family to them who were also pleased. We will continue to go to J and R for further vehicle purchases as necessary. Purchase Date : 10/15/14

Erin Larsen 1/20/2016
We bought a Ford Edge from the Old Guy! Very friendly to deal with. Didn't pressure or act like a cocky salesman. ;) Thanks, Scott! Purchase Date : 05/11/2012

Griffin Zieske 1/20/2016
Bought a 03 Denali from The Old Guy. Very friendly and easy going. The purchase could not have gone any better. Great guys to work with and I will definitely be back if I need another vehicle. Purchase Date : 10/20/2015

Mark 1/20/2016
I'm very pleased with the purchase of my vehicle. Scott was very helpful with the process . No pressure and I thought the deal was fair. Still liking the truck. Purchase Date : March 2015

Jaina Heiden 1/19/2016
Or family has bought five cars from J & R over the years. The first car was purchased from them in 2008 for my husband. My son bought his first car there and has traded up two times there. I bought my car there as well. It's the first place we look when shopping for a car.

Eric Beldin 1/18/2016
This is the best place ever to buy from. Everyone there is great honest people. They helped he and my family thru tons of phone calls and everything they said was honest and true. Finally found honest used car sales men.

Lisa Sittig 1/18/2016
The sales staff at J&R Auto were informative and friendly. Ben was very helpful and made the car shopping experience enjoyable! It was a no-pressure environment with a lot of great vehicle options.

Karl Vetter 1/15/2016
Had a great time buying my 2000 Toyota Camry from Scott and Randy at J and R Auto! The price was right and they even fixed all the problems with the car at no extra charge. Both super nice guys too so that was a bonus!

Norma Brandes 1/14/2016
Tom at J & R East was very friendly and helpful! I needed a dependable, inexpensive car and he knew just the right one!

Randy Kruse 1/14/2016
We bought a 2004 Cadillac Escilade from J+R Auto. It was a very nice clean vehicle. We are very pleased with the vehicle and will check them again when we need a vehicle

Madisen Koster 1/14/2016
J&R is such a great company to buy from! I bought a 2009 Lancer and love it! Randy and the other J&R staff were so great and helpful! I was in and out in no time! I purchased the car and a warranty for a very reasonable price! I would recommend them to anyone was is in need of a good car, at a good price, with some rockin customer service!

Patrick Burgers 1/14/2016
I purchased an F150 from these folks. After about 6 months, it started to miss and make some strange noises. My local garage indicated that the motor was ruined and the only fix was to replace the motor. I called the team at J & R and explained what had happened and what I was told. They immediately put together a plan to evaluate the truck and determine the most cost effective way to get the truck back on the road. After their investigation, the motor was in tact and a simple and inexpensive fix put the truck back in the game. Their service and support was over the top. I can't believe how great Randy, Larry and Scott treated me. This situation could have turned out to be very expensive and incredibly miserable. But the team at J & R refused to let that happen. In fact, they gave me a loaner car to drive while my truck was being evaluated. The loaner car was so nice, I would up buying that too.

Valerie and Ross VANDEVEIRE 1/14/2016
We recently purchased from Scott "The Old Guy" and couldn't have had a better experience! We are repeat customers with this being our 3rd purchase from J &R, we have been enjoying our newest purchase and are thrilled with the assistance Tom and Scott provided us! Thanks guys and thanks for putting up with our kiddos while we completed the paperwork!

Keara and Kristin Omdahl 1/14/2016
: My sister was in an accident and totaled her Jeep. She found 3 different dealerships that had what she was looking for. The only problem was the one she really liked was in Sioux Falls and she Iives 3 hours away. So she called me to go and look at it. I went to the J & R lot on 12th street and was helped by Scott. Scott went above and beyond to make sure I liked the Jeep. He answered all of the questions I had with honesty. It was the best purchasing experience I've ever had buying a car. The whole sale process was wonderful! However, seeing my sister when I pulled into her driveway with her new Jeep was priceless. She LOVED it! My next car will come from J & R for sure! Thank you Scott for making buying a car a wonderful experience!

Joel Knipple 1/11/2016
I found a suburban with low miles on their website and called about it right away. They were very friendly and had great customer service. I had a couple phone calls with them asking questions and they were very knowledgeable and never made me feel like a burden. I decided to make the 4 hour trip from North Dakota to check it out and I'm glad I did. They had a lot of nice looking vehicles on the lot when I got there and I was greeted right away. Overall it was a great experience!

Troy Duus 1/11/2016
Tom was very helpful and gave me a good deal on my 2001 Dakota 4 door. I like it very much!

Rudy Klosterman 10/23/2015
Bought a 2004 cadillac escalade from Randy and Scott what a great experience. The finance director Tom made it smooth and easy. Bought a ASC Warranty to give me the protection on my new cadillac. Thanks again for everything!

Austin & Sara Baum 10/23/2015
What a wonderful buying experience we had with J & R Auto. The staff were very friendly and answered all of our questions and helped guide us through our purchase rather than push us to purchase. I would recommend them to anyone who is looking at a used car.

Darko & Vesna 7/7/2015
Tracy is very very nice person to work with and she helped me with my credit! Thanks for everything!

BRAXTON ANDERSON 7/6/2015
FIRST TIME BUYER AND TRACY WAS VERY GREAT AT EXPLAINING EVERYTHING WHEN BUYING THE CAR. AND I WILL COME BACK AGAIN ANY TIME

Joseph & Theresa Collins 7/1/2015
WE ARE SO PLEASED WITH THE SERVICE WE RECIEVED FROM J&R AUTO. THEY TOOK A CHANCE ON A YOUNG COUPLE JUST STARTING OUT AND WE ARE SO PLEASED WITH THE CUSTOMER SERVICE. TRACY WAS VERY EASY TO WORK WITH AND HAD MOST OF THE PAPERWORK FILLED OUT BEFORE WE ARRIVED. WE RECIEVED AN AMAZING RATE AS WELL. I WOULD RECOMMENED THEM TO ANYONE! Purchase Date : 07/01/2015

Peggy Schultz 6/15/2015
What a great place to purchase a car. No pressure, great prices and honest. Worked with Scott "The Old Guy" and he was GREAT!!!! Purchase Date : 06/15/2015

Laura Edmundson 6/12/2015
I bought a Pontiac G6 from J&R Auto Sales and I had a good experience! They were helpful in helping me choose a reliable vehicle through there large selection of inventory I didn't feel pressured at all and very happy with the Financing Tracy did for me and the maintenance prior to purchasing. I would recommend my daughter even to purchase from them! Thank You! Purchase Date : 06/12/2015

Donna Wilson 6/8/2015
My experience with J & R was awesome. I would definitely buy from them again. Tracy in finance was a great help and worked hard to get me the best deal possible. Two thumbs up for this company. Purchase Date : 06/08/2015

Kate 5/27/2015
Satisfied Customer and I will do business there again! All the people were all very friendly and helpful! I recently purchased a car from J & R and Tracy a employee there, was so very nice! She was truly interested in my best interest! I would do business there in future if I can work with her again! Thank You!

Gene 5/10/2015
My family has bought a handful of different vehicles from Scott, the old guy. I have never had any problems with high pressure sales from him. Scott will answer all of your questions you have about anything on the lot. I would recommend J&R to anyone because of the friendly atmosphere. At the end of negotiations, completing the paperwork is quick and painless. Stop to visit Scott the old guy, you will not regret it!

Galen 4/29/2015
Honesty & loyalty is everything! I came into J&R looking for a particular vehicle at a particular price and they didn't have it. I had been looking for a long time with a lot of run around and not so honest people. They are hard to come by these days. A few days later I got a phone call from Brian and he had the exact car for me. I couldn't believe it. He was honest with me about the vehicle, their vehicles and how J&R ran their business. I was very impressed...I bought the vehicle and am now a loyal customer. Brian is great! He knows his stuff, not only about the car I was looking for but about others that compared. I bought a Dodge Ram pickup from him and he had all the answers to my questions about it plus added knowledge. It was a smooth and easy transaction. I highly suggest both J&R and Brian. Brian went above and beyond for me. I have sent several customers his way (both men and women) and have all had the same experience. I don't usually write these things but I thought this one was worth it! Thank you to Brian and J&R for the great truck, service and honesty....I know they have a loyal customer in me and other's who I will send ther way!

Trista 4/24/2015
I was online looking on your web site to buy another car for my son and love how friendly you all are. I will be in soon and hope to see you all! You made our buying so easy and I didn't think I'd ever buy a warranty but we did' and so glad I did since I've locked my keys in a few times. Just glad we did ( thanks Tracy) ! We enjoy our Pacifica and we will continue to buy again from you!

Trevor Johannson 3/12/2015
Wonderful buying experience In January I purchased a 2001 Honda CRV . What was great was the sales staff! I knew what I was looking for them when they got it in on trade they gave me a call after they inspected and gave it an excellent detail job.hey let me test drive it for the afternoon and got me an excellent interest rate through one of their lenders. One little problem with the blinker but they fixed it the next day totally happy with my Honda and my buying experience

Jeffrey Wahlert 2/19/2015
This is the 4th vehicle that we have bought from J&R. We would recommend them to anyone. The sales man are awesome and very helpful. What a great experience. As a female they wanted to here about my needs and what I wanted. Once they know what my needs were they worked hard to find what I wanted and were able to find one that I'm very happy with. They have earned a life time customer in my book.

Jeremiah Thoms 2/15/2015
First off, wherever you buy your car from get it checked out! I don't care if your grandpa is the sales man at a dealership. Would you buy a house without it getting it looked at? I purchased a car from J & R way back in 2007. My car broke down on the interstate and I needed something pretty quick since I traveled quite a bit. Going from dealership to dealership I ran across J & R. I had no intent to purchase a car from some small dealership, I was expecting to pay a ton for a used car at a larger car lot. I started browsing J & R's lot when one in particular caught my eye, a 2004 Hyundai Elantra GT. I was talking to the sales guy, I don't remember his name, but he was super cool. He basically tossed me the keys and told me to take it for a test drive. I told him that I wanted to bring it to a mechanic that I know to check it out, which was on the complete north end of town, and he said see ya when you get back. I walked away because I had only been looking for a day or two. After a couple more days of browsing more car lots, and getting very little help because I was only 19, I called the sales guy at J & R and told him I was going to be over in a minute to purchase the car I had been looking at. I spent $6xxx on an 04 with 86k miles on it. 6 years later I am still driving that car. With about 150k miles on it and only doing regular maintenance this car is a strong runner. I wouldn't be surprised if I ran it over 200k. I would purchase from these guys again if I ever needed a new car.

Chris Koernke 2/12/2015
I had a good time buying a car from JandR at the east side store they were really good about giving us time and space to talk really polite guys. Never walked away when we needed anything. I will defiantly go back to see them again when i need a new car. "GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE"!!

Amy Davis 2/12/2015
I couldn't of asked for a more attentive sales staff! I knew i wasn't eligible for financing yet they pulled it off !! no hassle, no problems, nothing but instant gratification!! Even gave me a great price on my trade in!!! Happiness is a new used car at J&R Auto sales!

Judy Kent 2/9/2015
Excellent great buy! I purchased a 2006 Honda Odyssey Mini Van for my business with the help of Scott Purdy. He was very helpful, knowledgeable and patient while I tried out several of their very nice vans from all three of their dealerships here in Sioux Falls. I couldn't be happier with this van. It is gorgeous, low mileage, perfect shape, great gas mileage, AFFORDABLE and no maintenance except for oil changes so far. Plus I had a great time trying out several of their vans before deciding upon this one. I look forward to purchasing a car for my child going to college because of the pricing, quality and service. I have only one problem........Too many selections!!! i WILL DEFINITELY be back!! Judy Kent

Cameron Cottrill 2/4/2015
Good people to work with. Couldn't find the car i wanted and Scott and Randy helped me find it. Helped with financing and got me on the road. Awesome guys. Also have it serviced at their service center. Always good having a reliable car that my salesman actually takes care of.

Sara 2/1/2015
I have had some credit issues in the past and went to J&R after being turned down at a lot of other places and not wanting a Wheel City car. My salesman Scott Purdy was very helpful when I told him about my credit. He got me with Chad the finance guy who sat me down and explained my options to me. I left very happy in a new Chevy Cobalt. Noticed a few issues with it the next day brought the vehicle back in and they took care of all my problems immediately. Great Dealership... Thanks for my new car..

Contact Us